Top 10 Famous Indian Science Personalities Of 2014

Countdown , 31 Mar - 2015 ,

Top 10 famous Indian science personalities of 2014

We have calculated the score on the basis of  their research news hits and TV, radio appearances in the past 12 months, plus social media. Finally we scored our candidates on their impact.


Dr G. Mugesh
Dr G. Mugesh, Professor, IPC Department, Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore. He is currently working on Nanowires made of vanadia can reduce cell damage in the human body, researchers from Indian Institute of Science (IISc), Bangalore have found. This breakthrough can help develop drugs that prevent ageing, cardiac disorders, and several neurological problems like Parkinson's and Alzheimer's disease. 


Dr. Prashant Goswami
Dr. Prashant Goswami, Chief Scientist, CSIR Centre for Mathematical Modelling and Computer Simulation (C-MMACS). Currently working on Assessment of agricultural sustainability in changing scenarios.


Dr Suresh Singla
Dr Suresh Singla, Principal Scientist, Animal Biotechnology Centre, NDRI Karnal, Haryana. He has contributed to cloning in female buffalo calf. Lalima' produced through the 'Hand-guided Cloning Technique' was born on May 2, 2014.


Dr. Achyut Kumar Panda
Dr. Achyut Kumar Panda, Centurion University of Technology & Management, Odisha, His research work focuses on the catalytic conversion of waste plastics to liquid product and chemicals and has developed a patented catalyst and process for production of liquid fuel from waste polypropylene.


Rahul Narayan
Rahul Narayan, a Delhi based IT professional. He led the team of professionals from various backgrounds science, technology, finance and media is the only Indian team leading the charge of India to win the Google Lunar X Prize mission announced in year 2007.


R. K. Gupta
R. K. Gupta, Project Director for Agni-V missile. Agni-V missile developed by the Defence Research and Development Organisation (DRDO), the intercontinental ballistic missile (ICBM) Agni-V can target all of Asia and parts of Africa and Europe.


Tessy Thomas: 'missile woman
Tessy Thomas: 'missile woman': Tessy Thomas, a scientist from India's Defence Research and Development Organisation (DRDO), is a rare woman who has played a key role in the making of its most potent long-range nuclearcapable ballistic missile, the Agni missile.


A S Kiran Kumar
A S Kiran Kumar is the Director of Satellite Application Centre (SAC) and joined ISRO in the year 1975. He made his contribution in the
designing and development of Electro-Optical Imaging Sensors for Airborne, LEO and GEO platform based imaging sensors starting
from Bhaskara TV payload to the latest TMC ad HySI payloads for Chandrayaan-1 missions.


Dr Mylswamy Annadurai
Dr Mylswamy Annadurai is a scientist with the Indian Space Research Organization and currently serves as Programme Director for IRS & SSS that include Chandrayaan-1, Chandrayaan-2, ASTROSAT, Aditya-1 and Mars Orbiter Mission.


Dr K Radhakrishnan
Dr K Radhakrishnan, is an Indian scientist and the present chairman of Indian Space Research Organisation (ISRO). He played a
key role in accomplishing several Indian space missions Including Mars mission.

Scientific India Newsletter

Enter your email address:

© 2013-2014 Scientific India Magazine

Note: This website is for educational Purposes only.